Double Diamond Diagram

Published Jun 13, 2022Updated Jan 5, 2024
Contribute to Docs

The double diamond diagram is a structured design methodology that differentiates between divergent and convergent modes of thinking and when they occur during strategy and execution in the design process. The four phases of the double diamond process are: discover, define, develop, and deliver.

The Double Diamond Diagram: two diamonds side-by-side, broken down into Strategy (Discover and Define) and Execution (Develop and Deliver) phases, moving from problem to solution.

This model promotes creativity and innovation while making it clear when decisions should be made and when teams should commit to a direction. A well-executed double diamond process ensures that product requirements and subsequent design work are focused on user needs.

The double diamond diagram illustrates two modes of thinking that occur during the strategy and execution stages of the design process. Teams can leverage divergent thinking to explore many possible solutions and generate novel ideas. The second stage is dedicated to convergent thinking to analyze, filter, and focus ideas in order to bring clarity and direction to the design process.

Double Diamond Phases

The four phases of the double diamond process are as follows:

  1. Discover (divergent strategy): Explore the problem and landscape, and learn from users and the market through user interviews, surveys, and other research.
  2. Define (convergent strategy): Sort and analyze the information gathered during the discovery stage and home in on the problem we’re trying to solve.
  3. Develop (divergent execution): Generate a range of ideas for possible solutions through brainstorms, workshops, low fidelity prototypes, and other ideation methods. Test different ideas with users or within the company to see what resonates.
  4. Deliver (convergent execution): Home in on, develop, and deliver the solution. Continue evaluating and testing the developed design to ensure it meets user needs.

This methodology was formalized by the British Design Council in 2005 through an in-depth study of 11 global brands, including LEGO, Microsoft, Sony, and Starbucks.

All contributors

Looking to contribute?

Learn UI and UX Design on Codecademy